LAMP Missions

…because everything is Vital.

Why Do We Celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?

 

Saint Patrick was born in Britain (when part of the Roman Empire) in the 4th century.

After being kidnapped at age 16 by Irish raiders to be a slave, he later escaped when God told him in a dream to flee from captivity to the coast, where he would board a ship and return to Britain.

He grew up and became a priest with a mission called by God to evangelize the Irish from their native polytheism. He is the most famous evangelist who ever lived in the history of Ireland. 

We celebrate his death, which was on March 17, 461 AD. Some say he used the shamrock, a three-leaved plant, to explain the Holy Trinity to the pre-Christian Irish people.

My friend, Jonathan King, gave me this add, “And there the Lord opened the sense of my unbelief that I might at last remember my sins and be converted with all my heart to the Lord my God, who had regard for my abjection, and mercy on my youth and ignorance, and watched over me before I knew Him, and before I was able to distinguish between good and evil, and guarded me, and comforted me as would a father his son” (The Confession of St. Patrick).

Author: Eric

I have been married to my wife Laura since 1995, and live in Austin, Texas with our two children. I have participated in the sport of triathlon and investing for many years.

Comments are closed.