LAMP Missions

…because everything is Vital.

The Traitor Within: the Devil

3 Comments

You will always encounter three enemies:

  1. the Flesh,

  2. the World, and

  3. the Devil.

Because they always conspire together it’s difficult to talk about them individually;in any battle at least two of them are involved, but usually it’s all three.

The Devil

It is the image of God reflected in YOU that so enrages hell; it is this at which the demons hurl their mightiest weapons.

Driving home from an afternoon out and running a bit late to get to a children’s birthday party.  I was in the driver’s seat and my wife and I were enjoying some conversation.  After several minutes we realized that we were caught in a traffic jam that was going nowhere.  Precious moments passed by as tension mounted in the car.

In an effort to be helpful, my wife suggested an alternate course:

“if you take a right here until 1st street we can cut over and take about 5 minutes off the drive.” 

I was ready to divorce her.  I’m serious.  In about 20 seconds I was ready for separation.  If the judge had been in the car, I would have signed the papers right there.  Good grief over comments about my driving?  Is that all that was going on in that moment? I sat at the wheel silent and steaming.

On the outside, looked cool; inside here’s what was happening:

doesn’t she think I know how to get there?  she always does that.

Then another voice says, she always does that.

the full dialogue took place in a blink of an eye.

yeah, she does…  She’s always saying stuff like that.  I hate that about her.

A feeling of accusation and anger and self righteousness sweeps over me.

Then the voice saysthis is never going to change, 

and I say, this is never going to change,

and the voice says, you know, there are a lot of women out there who would be deeply grateful to have you as their man,

and I think, yeah…  There are a lot of women out there...

YOU probably thought this whole thing was YOUR own mess.

Not every thought that crosses your mind comes from you.  this happens all the time in marriage, in any relationship.  We’ve been lied to all the time.

We never stopped to say,

  • wait a minute who else is speaking here?  

  • Where are those ideas coming from?  

  • Where are those feelings coming from?

There’s a whole lot more going on behind the scenes of our lives than most of us have been led to believe.

Shoot the traitor! choose against him every time. 

h/t John EldredgeWild at Heart (book)

The book had a very favorable reception by many, including Chuck Swindoll, who called it “the best, most insightful book I have read in at least the last five years.” It also received harsh criticism, with some claiming that the book misuses scriptural references, and that Eldredge has projected his own personality traits onto God in order to support his viewpoint. Despite this criticism, it remains a favorite in many evangelical circles, and a top seller.

Author: Eric

I have been married to my wife Laura since 1995, and live in Austin, Texas with our two children. I have participated in the sport of triathlon and investing for many years.