LAMP Missions

…because everything is Vital.

Love Letters and Poems: The Garden of Love

excerpt from GANN-WD-the-Tunnel-Thru-the-Air

WHEN Robert received Marie’s letter, he began to see himself in a different light. He read again the Book of Job, and realized what Job meant when he said, “I had a great fear, and it has come upon me.” Robert realized that he had been fearful of losing Marie, and that as soon as there seemed to be a possibility of someone else being attracted to her, that that fear had come upon him and caused him to become jealous without cause, and that he had lost or was about to lose, Marie, who had been more than life to him. So he replied
to Marie as follows:

DEAREST MARIE:

Your sweet letter received. It has opened my heart to understanding and made me see myself as I am. I have read
St. Paul on the greatest thing in the world and find that I have not been patient, have not been kind or generous. Above
all, I have been jealous without cause. All of these things are not a part of true love. Paul says, “Faith, Hope and
Love, but the greatest of these is Love.” If I had had that great faith which never faileth and which is founded on love
I would not have been jealous. I have been selfish; have sought myself to please, and have not thought enough about
you.

I am sending a little poem that I have written, entitled “The Garden of Love,” which I think will express to you fully just how I feel and how I see things now. I have tried to enter the Garden of Love through the wrong gate, and now I want to enter it through the right gate. I will be happy and trusting, loving and thinking only of you.

No more doubts or jealousy will ever be in my mind again, because love will be there, and these foul weeds can never remain where love is. I want you, Marie, and only you. Please forgive and forget and make me happy again.

With all the love my heart can send, I am

Hopefully,

Your own ROBERT.

DEDICATED TO MARIE STANTON, WHO INSPIRED IT.
THE GARDEN OF LOVE

Many enter the Garden of Love thru the wrong gate
while there really is only one perfect gate. Imagination often
leads us into the wrong path.

SELFISHNESS
We enter thru the gate of Selfishness and immediately
find ourselves in the dark Valley of Doubt where the foul
weeds of deceit, lack of confidence, malice, greed and jealousy
abound.

Just on the other side of the Valley of Doubt lies
the Mountain of Jealousy, which springs from lack of faith,
understanding and forgetfulness.

From the Mountain of
Jealousy flows the river of Hate which has its source in the
Valley of Doubt. This river leads to the Sea of Unhappiness,
Sorrow, Despair and Death.

UNSELFISHNESS

We now enter the right gate to the Garden of Love, where
we see a golden sign “Unselfishness” which can only lead to
Love. We enter the Garden thru the Gate of Understanding
where a beautiful bed of white lilies grow in all their
fragrance. Grasp one quickly and carry it thru life, for
these are the lilies of faith which smother out all the foul
weeds in the garden.

Next you will see a fountain of pure water. Touch your
lips to it for it is the Water of Forgetfulness and it feeds the
Lily of Faith. After this you are ready to pass on thru
the Garden and enjoy the flowers which blossom forth nurtured
by the Water of Love. Among these are Self-sacrifice,
which is the basis of real love.

Then you will find a beautiful
flower that many never see at all, Confidence. It is beautiful
and fragrant and stands near the Flower of Happiness.

You will find the flower of Kindness in full bloom beside
the Rose of Charity, then near the end of the Garden there
is a tiny flower blooming all alone. It is pale and delicate
and few appreciate it until late in life, — it is Unrewarded
Kindness.

But we do reach it just before we pass into the
Vale of Content, and we realize that the path which leads to
Love and Happiness is only found by helping to lead our
fellow travelers thru the Field of Content.

When we have progressed thus far we look for the other
entrance to the Garden and find that the Gate of Selfishness
has disappeared and the Valley of Doubt is now covered with
the Lily of Faith, and the Mountain of Jealousy has been
melted into a Valley of Self-sacrifice.

Where the River of
Hate flowed we now find a Sea of Kindness flowing into the
Ocean of Happiness.

When we reach the end of the Garden
we find the flower of all flowers, its beauty and radiance far
outshining the noon-day Sun.

Seek no further — it is the
Flower of Love.

Place the Lily of Faith beside it, nurture
it with the Water of Kindness and you will have it always.

ROBERT.

This was the letter that won Marie, because she agreed with St. Paul that love was the greatest thing in the world. She did not wait to write, but telegraphed Robert:

YOUR SWEET LETTER RECEIVED — YOU ARE MY OLD ROBERT AND I AM YOUR MARIE AND ALWAYS WILL BE

MARIE.

Author: Eric

I have been married to my wife Laura since 1995, and live in Austin, Texas with our two children. I have participated in the sport of triathlon and investing for many years.

Comments are closed.