LAMP Missions

…because everything is Vital.

WORK IT OUT: a short BIKE, RUN and SWIM

2 Comments

Spring Break is in session here in Austin.

Last week Sophia started soccer and her coach is working them. Veritas appears to be building a competitive soccer team. The girls Varsity team last I heard was in contention to win State. Nevertheless, Sophia’s soccer coach is a high school senior and is certainly demonstrating some great coaching skills. I will have to take some notes on that. Sophia informed me that her soccer workouts are more difficult than with me. Ha! Well that let’s me know she has way more capacity than I thought.

We are truly blessed to have been given the opportunity to have her attend such a wonderful school!

I must have been going easy on her, she is dad’s girl of course.

TUESDAY 3/12/12: Yesterday, we did some bike interval training. Sophia got her heart rate up to 180 bpm. Am I going to hard on her? I think she would go anaerobic near 200, so I think there is some more capacity with the VO2 Max.

Nice bike!

bike 1

Although, the focus was not on the distance, it was on being able to keep up the intensity during the difficult levels and then recover to start it all over again.

We did 30 minutes of bike training and then some light weights to work the arms for the swimming.

WEDNESDAY 3/13/13 : Today, is a day reserved for swimming, or weights, or NOW soccer.

An interesting exercise opportunity revealed itself.

My lovely wife asked me to take the car in to the shop for an oil change and a little tune up.

Getting there is one thing, but how will we get back home from the auto garage….RUN of course!

She was all dressed up in her colorful gear, you cannot miss that out on the street. So today it was a nice 45 minute run.

She did great!

running 2

On the way home we had to stop by the pool [outdoor unheated]. Today I will have to admit, she was a bit difficult to catch [on the downhill toward the pool], she actually was running faster than I.

At the poolside it was a bit of

you go first…no, you go first,

as we contemplated jumping into the icy pool. We were rooted on by the young couple lounging nearby as they informed us that the water was “arctic”.

cold swim

After a couple “cannonballs” to stop the heart and wake the soul, I swam a brisk  100 yards, it was a bit frosty, yet moving is the motivation to keep the body “warm” if that is even possible in such cold water. Keeping Antarctica last on the travel plans. Swimming one mile out there would be…. exhilarating.

Note, pack cold swimming head gear.

She will be doing her first triathlon race of the year here in Austin at the beginning of April.  The race director, Michael Bland, told me,

if she can handle the distances, she can compete.

Georgetown Super Sprint #1 – Sunday, April 7

Click to Register

Description

• 200 Meter Swim – Indoor Pool Snake Swim
• 7 Mile Bike Ride – Rolling hills
2 Mile Run – Along the hike and bike trails through the beautiful San Gabriel River Park

I was expecting at least a 5K on the run. This will be a FAST race! Always exciting during the bike portion…avoiding crashes, water bottles, and other obstacles. It will be great experience for her for sure.

We will have to find some pictures of us in our super colorful exercise outfits when the photo opp presents itself. Because according to Sophia, everything needs to be colorful, I cannot disagree.

Author: Eric

I have been married to my wife Laura since 1995, and live in Austin, Texas with our two children. I have participated in the sport of triathlon and investing for many years.

2 thoughts on “WORK IT OUT: a short BIKE, RUN and SWIM

  1. This is great Eric…..I think “she” is getting “you” into shape!!!! I agree with Sophia….the clothes have to stand out in the crowd!! You two are both brave and crazy to go in that pool after heating up your body….
    Maybe Sophia andMaddie can go running while you are here.
    So sorry about the car…..the enemy is alive and well, but we serve the ONE who is greater than any trial the enemy may bring. It just means that you are walking your journey with the Lord and the enemy wants to shake your faith….But, He that is in me is greater than he that is in the world!!!!!!!
    So excited to see y’all next week and spend Easter with my WHOLE family….praising God!!!

  2. A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do believe that you ought
    to publish more on this topic, it may not be a taboo matter but
    generally folks don’t talk about such topics. To the next! All the best!!