LAMP Missions

…because everything is Vital.

Work it out: The Build Stage

When training for an endurance event, eating and training are necessary. From my experience doing these events, I have put together training programs to accomplish these types of physical undertakings.

The sport of triathlon can be challenging to train for because there are three components to incorporate, swimming, biking, and running.

Furthermore, one needs to find a way to incorporate such a training schedule in such a way that it does take over other areas of your work family life.

The reason an eleven year old girl can run 4 miles is because she has a built up a physical base to do this.

What I am going to do from here is BUILD upon that base. I created a new 12 week training schedule that will get her ready for the summer racing action as well as build toward the Olympic distance.

The Olympic Distance Triathlon is composed of a 1.5 kilometer swim, a 40 kilometer bike and a 10 kilometer run.

This year’s build stage by the week ending June 3, 2013 will be aiming for Sophia to be able to:

  • swim 1000 yards,
  • bike 20 miles, and
  • run 3 miles.

I personally think the 1000 yards is a bit ambitious at this time and I originally had 500 yards as the target swimming distance, but Sophia requested to aim for the longer distance.

This BUILD stage is focused a bit more on running and biking, where the swimming can be worked on in the summer when it warms up and soccer season has come to an end.

I plan on having Sophia spectate the Capital of Texas triathlon this year to give her a closer look at what she will be experiencing at this distance in terms of people, places, and things. She has certainly been at the finish line for a number of my events, but it can only add value to her training, to give her a look at this event with a new perspective.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



I am inquiring with the event organizers to determine if she will be able to get an age group waiver for that distance next year.

Author: Eric

I have been married to my wife Laura since 1995, and live in Austin, Texas with our two children. I have participated in the sport of triathlon and investing for many years.

Comments are closed.